Breakfast of the Week

Banana and peanut butter on rye bread

3) Peanut Butter & Banana on Rye Toast

Today’s breakfast was welcomed with open arms after an ‘easy run’ quickly spiralled in to a much less easy run! 35 minutes in I developed a severe stitch however, rather than give up (no way was I doing that after sacrificing an extra hour in bed for this run!) I decided the best idea would be to sprint home and get it over with as fast as possible… Cue extreme heavy breathing and an intense desire to get straight back in to my bed!

Luckily I had a delicious loaf of rye bread and pot of peanut butter waiting to soothe my pain! Rye bread is a great alternative to other less healthy forms of bread. It is 100% wheat free and high in fibre which helps you stay fuller longer. Bananas and peanut butter are also great for maintaining fullness whilst also keeping you healthy. Peanut butter contains high levels of protein which is great for vegetarians like me who often struggle to get enough of this in their diet and bananas contain potassium which apparently can prevent muscle cramp during exercise. Maybe if I’d had the banana before my run the stitch could have been avoided… next time!
 
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

